Sources of power for the year ended Mar. 31, 1958, were as follows:-

Source	Kwh.	P.C.
Hydro-electric plant	848, 537, 430	69.9
Diesel-electric plant-		
Oil fuel	73,767,461	6.1
Gas fuel	56,386,632	4.6
Gas-turbine plant	6,119,000	0.5
Purchased	225, 286, 410	18.6
Inter-utility imports	3,473,600	0.3
Totals	1,213,570,533	100.0
		

The Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory.—The Northern Canada Power Commission was created by Act of Parliament in 1948 to bring electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be provided on a self-sustaining basis. By legislation passed in 1950, the Act was extended to include Yukon Territory. The name of the Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was changed in 1956.

The Northern Canada Power Commission has authority to construct and operate power plants as required in a territory having an area of over 1,500,000 sq. miles. The Commission is continually investigating power needs in this large area and studying reports on hydro-electric power sites.

The Commission has a hydro-electric power development in operation on the Snare River about 94 miles northwest of Yellowknife, N.W.T., from which power has been supplied to the mines in the Yellowknife area since the autumn of 1948.

A diesel generating station and distribution system was put into operation at Fort Smith, N.W.T., in October 1950, and at Fort Simpson in October 1956 to supply the federal Departments of Northern Affairs and National Resources, Transport, National Defence (RCCS), Health and Welfare, and Public Works as well as the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and private commercial consumers and residents of the settlements.

A hydro-electric development on the Mayo River approximately six miles north of Mayo Landing, Y.T., completed in December 1952, delivers power to the mining developments in that area and to the settlement of Mayo Landing. Recently completed and projected construction is outlined at p. 561.